Two debutants for National U-20 Squad

first_imgA 20-MAN squad, including two international-based debutants, will represent Guyana at the CONCACAF U-20 Men’s Qualifiers in Nicaragua from February 15 to 23, 2020.The two, Hudson Hazlewood from Washington University FC, USA and Javier George from Stade Beaucairois FC, France are both central midfielders but have different playing styles as well as roles and functions in the team. “Hazlewood is a #10 type of midfielder who does more attacking,” said head coach Wayne Dover prior to the announcement of the squad while George is more of a #8 type of midfielder who does more defending.They both added strength to the squad which made it more competitive in sessions and for selection to the first team.”Commenting on the other members of the squad, Dover said many of the players have been part of the GFF’s Academy Training Centres and have international experience at the U-15 and U-17 levels:“The work done with the players who are/were part of the ATCs was evident during the training sessions. This is a disciplined and special group, who gave of their best at every training session in the more than four weeks we’ve been together.”“This is a good reflection as to how far we have come. Once again, I’ll state my optimism of our chance of coming out of the group on top by competing and giving our best effort.”Guyana have been placed in Group A with St Vincent and the Grenadines, Montserrat, US Virgin Islands and hosts Nicaragua.Guyana’s first match is on the February 15 at 17:30hrs against Montserrat before they play Vincent & the Grenadines on February at the same time.They return to action on February 21 from 20:30hrs when they play the US Virgin Islands with their last game against Nicaragua on February 23.The full squad reads: Shawn Adonis (Goalkeeper, Dynamic FC), Ronaldo Blair (Goalkeeper, Timerhi Panthers FC), Nicholai Andrews (Defender, Santos FC), Kemule Batson (Defender, Milerock FC), Joseph DeFreitas (Defender, Timehri Panthers FC), Keanu Lawrence (Defender, Den Amstel FC), Eric Moore (Defender, Milerock FC), (Marcus Wilson – Defender Santos FC), Andre Mayers (Defender, Capital FC), Ravon Bailey (Midfielder, Fruta Conquerors FC), Javier George (Midfielder, Stade Beaucairois FC), Jamar Harrigan (Midfielder, Buxton United FC), Hutson Hazlewood (Midfielder, Washington University FC), Joel Isaacs (Midfielder, Winners Connection FC), Darron Niles (Midfielder, Santos FC), Threvon Pluck (Midfielder, Fruta Conquerors FC), Omari Glasgow (Forward, Fruta Conquerors FC), Dorwin George (Forward, Pele FC), Nicolas McArthur (Forward, Fruta Conquerors FC), Osafa Simpson (Forward, Fruta Conquerors FC).Technical team: Wayne Dover (Head Coach), Calvin Allen (Assistant Coach), Eon DeVeira (Goalkeeper Coach), Travis Bess (Development Goalkeeper Coach).Medical: (Pablino Cupido), Wilson Toledo (Head of Sports Science), Daniel Thomas (Team Operations Manager), Devon Winter (Equipment Manager)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *